Ports Question

Scrutinizer is an enterprise/business class NetFlow and sFlow analysis tool. Scrutinizer provides historical trends of the company's critical network interfaces as well as the details on:

Who: The end system causing the traffic
What: The application/protocol that is being used
When: The time frame it has been occurring for
Where: The network connection that is affected

Moderators: scottr, Moderator Team

Post Reply
rannday
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:11 pm

Ports Question

Post by rannday » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:16 pm

Can I use the same port number on all my devices through my network? Right now, each device has a unique port number, starting at, e.g. 4301, 4302, 4303, etc...

I'm having issues saving the ports I use in scrutinizer, for one, so I'm wondering if I just change all the device's ports to the same, and use only one port in the settings, if that will make a difference or if it's even doable.

There error I'm getting when I try to change the port numbers is:

function saveConfSubCat(): Error error, Internal Server Error

Thanks.

Chris
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 5:08 am

Re: Ports Question

Post by Chris » Fri Feb 03, 2017 5:17 am

Usually there is no real need to assign a dedicated flow port to a single device. Major sender groups are already distinguished by the default ports (i.e 4739 for IPFIX, 9993/9995 Netflow, 2055 Netflow/AVC/WLCs etc) and Scrutinizer is able to and will differentiate based on the Flow Senders Source IP anyway.

I am not sure what you would gain from a single Port for each device, except some more details in the vitals tab maybe. But you would see the same in the Metrics by Sender instead of by Port.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest